Close close


Enter your search term below:



Smart Separations Ltd

Founded in 2013, the company is currently incubated at the University of Surrey’s research laboratories – collaborating with the Department of Chemistry (professor Bob Slade and Dr David Watson) and the Department of Chemical Engineering (Dr Eirini Velliou and Dr Harvey Arellano-Garcia). We have a team of nine who are experts in different areas, from ceramics technology, chemical engineering, catalytic chemistry to entrepreneurship, finance and IP. Since our founding, we have raised €845,000 in research grants and investor capital, won several European prizes and awards (including the Rushlight Clean Environment Award 2016/17), and have filed four patent families to protect our core technology, two of which have been granted.
SSL’s mission is to “improve quality of life through innovation” in the areas of health, environment and human causes. Our ambition is to become the world’s leader in MF and particle-separation technology – filling the void that currently exists in the market. Our proprietary technology will fulfil a fundamental role in reducing waste, costs and time, while creating manufacturing jobs and a portfolio of highly exportable products. Moreover, our technology will contribute improvements to areas of environmental concern – particularly in improving indoor air quality by integrating our filters with domestic appliances in the short term, and removal at source through industrial emissions reduction in the longer term. Our strategy is to address the MF pitfalls that different industries currently experience, and use our “Octopus” strategy to tackle these different market opportunities: the company’s IP and proprietary Membrane Technology is owned by the Holding company (or the octopus’s “brain”), while the different “tentacles” represent application areas of the technology.

Close close

Mailing List sign-up

  • By submitting this form you agree to our privacy policy


twitter twitter
Follow Us

SETsquared is a partnership between

  • University of Bath
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Southampton
  • University of Surrey