Close close


Enter your search term below:



Nick Sturge is appointed as the new Institute of Directors South West regional chairman

Nick Sturge, director of the enterprise hub Engine Shed and the Bristol SETsquared Business Acceleration Centre, has been named as the new Institute of Directors South West regional chairman.

A former Bristol IoD committee chair and member for over ten years, he officially takes over from Richard Ayre in January 2016.

Nick will represent the interests of the IoD’s 2,500 plus South West members at a national level as well as supporting the six regional committees in Bristol, Bath and Wiltshire, Somerset, Devon and Cornwall, Gloucestershire and Dorset.

He said: “I believe that the Institute of Directors is the leading organisation promoting effective leadership and governance which is critical to business growth.   I intend to work closely with strategic business, investor and professional partners and build on the strengths of the Local Enterprise Partnership network and the region’s Universities to further the impact of the region at a national economic level.

“The South West is set to experience some significant developments in the near future with Hinkley C and the proposed electrification of the rail mainline between London and Bristol.

“My job, and the job of the Institute of Directors, is to ensure that our members, whether they be SMEs or multi national corporates, can make the most of the opportunities that these developments represent and play an active and influential role in the growth of the South West economy.”

The SETsquared partnership, which includes Exeter, Bath and Bristol, has recently been ranked the best University –backed business incubator in Europe by UBI (University Business Incubator Index).

Richard Ayre, executive director of children’s educational books supplier Clickety Books, remains an IoD Council member.

Close close

Mailing List sign-up

  • By submitting this form you agree to our privacy policy


twitter twitter
Follow Us

SETsquared is a partnership between

  • University of Bath
  • University of Bristol
  • University of Exeter
  • University of Southampton logo
  • University of Surrey